A Weekend of Tournaments – 2nd March 2015

During one of the busiest weekends of the season, the Plymouth & District Badminton League held the Final of their Beckly Cup Tournament followed by their annual Open Tournament.

At the Torpoint & Rame Leisure Centre, the two teams from Kuasa and Plymouth Life Centre arrived for the Final of the Beckly Cup – a handicapped knock-out tournament that takes place during the course of the season. Plymouth Life Centre had last been at the Final six seasons ago under their previous name of Mayflower Wednesday whilst Kuasa were making their first attempt at winning the tournament during their League debut.

Beckly Cup Winners - Plymouth Life Centre 1
2015 Beckly Cup Winners – Plymouth Life Centre (L-R: Jo Hattan, Sue Gale, Jack Mitchell, Neil Hammacott, Carol Pavitt and Lisa Hancock)
Beckly Cup Runners Up - Kuasa 1
2015 Beckly Cup Runners Up – Kuasa (L-R: Raju Thomas, John Martin, Jessica Lai, Lisa Davies, Victor Alarcon and Rebecca Appleby)

Kuasa from Division Three were the expected underdogs on the evening against the more experienced Division Two PLC team but they realised that the handicap would be in their favour when revealed at the end of the evening. Unfortunately, nerves (and jetlag for one young player) took their toll on Kuasa who struggled to convert points, although Raju Thomas and Rebecca Appleby remained determined to pile on the points at every opportunity. The PLC accumulated 378 aces during the evening whilst Kuasa built a creditable 149 and it was left to the youngest player on the night, 12-year old Jessica Lai to open the sealed envelope with the handicap. Kuasa had been awarded +180, taking their total to 329, just 49 aces short of their target and providing Plymouth Life Centre with a well-earned title against their enthusiastic but disappointed opponents. And, for Sue Gale a second Beckly Cup title as the only survivor from the previous PLC team that won the title under their previous name, Mayflower Wednesday.


The annual Open Tournament is made up of 5 events that are open to all players registered within the Plymouth & District Badminton League and was held at the YMCA Kitto Centre. Despite losing some of our top players to County commitments and a clash with the All England, this year’s tournament still attracted 22 of the League’s top players representing seven of our Clubs in a feast of top quality badminton.

Richard Townsend and Chris Luscombe - Mens Doubles winners
2015 Open Tournament Men’s Doubles Winners: Richard Townsend and Chris Luscombe

The day started with the Men’s Doubles which saw Tony Clark (Victoria) and Adrian Freeman (Ivybridge) win Group A and Chris Luscombe (Victoria) and Richard Townsend (Callington) win Group B before entering the knock-out stages. Clark and Freeman were overcome by Paul Ackrell (Victoria) and Dan Pring (Victoria) in one semi-final 21-16 20-22 21-13 whilst Luscombe and Townsend overcame Kieron Wong and Oscar Mo in the other, all-Victoria semi-final 21-9 21-10.
Luscombe and Townsend then went on to take the title from Ackrell and Pring 21-10 21-9.

Jo Jackson and Bonny Mo - Ladies Doubles winners
2015 Open Tournament Ladies Doubles Winners – Jo Jackson and Bonny Mo

Bonnie Mo (Victoria) started her day with success in the Ladies Doubles with Jo Jackson (Eggbuckland) when they defeated Eve Robertson (Callington) and Julia Froud (University) 21-13 21-10.

Chris Luscombe and Bonny Mo - Mixed Doubles winners
2015 Open Tournament Mixed Doubles Winners – Chris Luscombe and Bonny Mo

The Mixed Doubles saw the Victoria pairing of Bonny Mo and Chris Luscombe top their group prior to the knock-out stages and went on to defeat Gareth Pearse (Victoria) and Jo Jackson (Eggbuckland) 21-15 21-11 in the final.

Bonny Mo - Ladies Singles winner
2015 Open Tournament Ladies Singles Winner – Bonny Mo

Bonny Mo then finished her successful day by taking the Ladies Singles title when she defeated University’s Julia Froud 21-14 21-11.

Oscar Mo - Mens Singles winner
2015 Open Tournament Men’s Singles Winner – Oscar Mo

In the Men’s Singles, Paul Ackrell (Victoria) topped one group and Tony Clark (Victoria) topped the other prior to the knock-out stages. Ackrell overcame Kieron Wong (Victoria) 21-14 21-13 in one semi-final whilst Oscar Mo (Victoria) defeated Julian Cooper (Callington) 21-7 21-16 in the other. Youth prevailed as Oscar Mo took the title 21-11 21-14 against a very tired Paul Ackrell.

The Open Tournament was organised and run by Sandra Chenery and Neil Hammacott and the P&D Badminton League Chairman, Julian Cooper presented the trophies.

Further information about the Plymouth & Badminton League and their Clubs can be found on their website at www.plymouthbadminton.co.uk