Restricted Successes – 16th March 2015

The Plymouth & District Badminton League held their penultimate tournament of the season recently with their Restricted Handicapped Tournament. Closed to players from Medley Division One and Men’s Division A, this handicapped tournament attracted 34 players representing 10 League clubs to take part in the five events on the day. Every player or pair were assigned a handicap that would stay with them for each event on the day.

2015 Mens Doubles Restricted Winners - Steve Ackrell and Jack Mitchell v2The first event of the day saw 7 pairs enter the Men’s Doubles and saw Jonathan Squibb and Harry Williams (University) win their group playing off a handicap of -1 whilst the second group was won by John Zarb and Rob Loader (YMCA Kitto) with a -2 handicap. Zarb and Loader were beaten in the semi-final by Steve Ackrell and Jack Mitchell (PLC) playing off a -3 handicap. In the other semi-final, Squibb and Williams defeated Tom Cooper and James David (BATS) who were playing off +2. The two winning semi-finalists met in a very competitive final which saw Steve Ackrell and Jack Mitchell (-3), pictured left, take the title 21-14 21-19 over Jonathan Squibb and Harry Williams (-1).

The Ladies Doubles also had 7 entries with Lisa Hancock and Daisy Bailey (PLC) win their group off a -1 handicap 2015 Ladies Doubles Restricted Winners - Julia Froud and Georgia Beechwhilst Lucy Cooper and Colette David (BATS) won the second group playing on a +2 handicap. Hancock and Bailey lost their semi-final to Julia Froud and Georgia Beech (University) who had a scratch handicap whilst Cooper and David won their semi-final against Jessica Lai (Kuasa) and Jo Jackson (Eggbuckland) who were playing off a +2 handicap. In the final, Julia Froud and Georgia Beech (scratch), pictured right, defeated Lucy Cooper and Colette David (+2) 16-21 21-17 21-19 for the title in a closely fought match.

2015 Mixed Doubles Restricted Winners - Lisa Hancock and Jack MitchellThe next event of the day was the Mixed Doubles which saw 14 pairs enter with an initial round robin spread over three groups. The three winners at the group stages were Lisa Hancock and Jack Mitchell (PLC) playing off -3, Sha Williams and Steve Ackrell (PLC) with a scratch handicap and Jo Jackson (Eggbuckland) and Gareth Pearse (Victoria) playing off -7. After two knock out rounds, the semi-finalists battled for a place in the final. Lisa Hancock and Jack Mitchell (-3) defeated University’s Julia Froud and Jonathan Squibb (-2) 21-15 21-20 whilst Jo Jackson and Gareth Pearse (-7) defeated the Ivybridge/PLC combination of Jasmine Pearse and Chris Wardale (scratch) 21-0 21-12. In the final, Hancock and Mitchell (-3), pictured left, overcame Jackson and Pearse (-7) 21-20 21-9 for the title.

The Ladies Singles saw 4 ladies brave the event with a round robin before the knock out rounds and Julia Froud 2015 Ladies Restricted Singles Winner - Lisa Hancock(scratch) defeated fellow student Georgia Beech (+2) 21-17 21-17 for a place in the final. PLC’s Lisa Hancock (scratch) was gifted the second final place when Lucy Cooper (BATS) was forced to withdraw following the round robin. In the final, Lisa Hancock defeated Julia Froud 21-12 21-12 to take the title.

2015 Mens Restricted Singles Winner - Harry WilliamsTen men entered the Men’s Singles event and University’s Harry Williams (scratch) won the first group whilst PLC’s Jack Mitchell (-3) was the winner of the second group. In the first semi-final, Harry Williams defeated Victoria’s Gareth Pearse (scratch) 21-14 whilst PLC’s Steve Ackrell (scratch) took the second semi-final 21—15 from Jack Mitchell (-3). In the closely fought final, Harry Williams defeated Steve Ackrell 21-19 21-18 to take the title.

The spectators and supporters were treated to a full day of competitive badminton which was a joy to watch.

The Restricted Tournament was organised and run by Sandra Chenery and Julian Cooper whilst Cooper, the P&D Badminton League Chairman, also presented the trophies.

Further information about the Plymouth & Badminton League and their Clubs can be found on their website at